Easy, delicious and healthy mango ice cream

Mangos are one of life’s great gifts. They are the epitome of summer and remind me so happily of when I was a kid and I was treated to a whole mango all to myself – I would devour it straight off the pip, dripping juice and all (of course, I was confined to garden by my parents for thismango ice cream 7.jpg activity).

My obsession with mangos has not diminished over time, so naturally, my summer now involves concocting endless mango-inspired desserts, making the most of the abundance of these gems at the markets. The latest creation – a mango ice cream that is oh-so-yum and yet (coincidentally) sugar-free, vegan and paleo – has to be one of the simplest summer treats, and yet most satisfying in all its mango glory.

mango ice cream 1.jpg

Just 3 simple ingredients and not even an ice cream machine required (I’ll admit… the consistency might be a little better with one, but it’s definitely not a must-have).

Ingredients:

  • 2 large mangos
  • 400g coconut milk
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup (optional)

Instructions:

  • Cube the mango flesh and place in the freezer for at least 4 hours
  • Place the frozen mango into a food processor with the coconut milk and blitz until smooth
  • Add in the maple syrup and mix well
  • Pass through a sieve to get a smoother texture and place in a freezer-safe container
  • Allow to set for at least 8 hours (or overnight) – depending on your freezer, it may set quite hard (I just switched it to the fridge an hour or two before serving to get to the right texture)

mango ice cream 2.jpg

Leave a Reply

