Choc chip banana muffins

A month into my new social distanced life, and it seemed like it was time to jump on the banana bread bandwagon… I mean, if you haven’t baked with overripe bananas, have you truly been in lockdown?!

So, here’s my addition to the banana bake craze…

Now, I’m normally a bit of a banana bread traditionalist, but since we are in unusual times, I felt it called for some added indulgence so threw some dark chocolate chips into the mix and I have to say, I wasn’t disappointed with the decision.

** My usual recipe calls for eggs, but since I’d run out – which I take as a badge of lockdown honour – I made a quick apple puree and substituted this for the eggs. **

Ingredients
(makes 12 small muffins)

  • 90g butter
  • 180g + 1Tbsp caster sugar
  • 3 small apples
  • 1 tsp vanilla paste
  • 2 Tbsp buttermilk
  • 4 bananas (mashed)
  • 190g flour
  • 1 tsp bicarb
  • pinch salt
  • 100g dark chocolate chips

Instructions:

  • Peel, core and chop the apples into cubes
  • Place the apples into a saucepan with 1Tbsp sugar and the vanilla paste over a medium heat
  • Cover and allow or cook for about 15 minutes (or until you can mash the apples easily with a fork), then set aside and allow to cool
  • Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy (scrape down the sides of the bowl from time to time)
  • Beat in the apple puree
  • Add the bananas and butter milk and beat until combined
  • In another bowl, sift the flour, bicarb and salt together then mix into the banana mixture
  • Stir in the choc chips until evenly mixed through
  • Line a 12 muffin pan with muffin cups (or, if you’re like me and didn’t have any, cut squares of baking paper and press them into the muffin tin – you may need to fill each one immediately so the paper doesn’t pop back out)
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes at 180°C

Leave a comment